Board of Directors

The South Carolina Ports Authority is governed by a nine-member Board of Directors, each appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate, along with two non-voting, ex-officio members - the state Secretary of Commerce and Secretary of Transportation. Despite its status as a public agency dedicated to the economic development of the State of South Carolina, the Ports Authority does not receive direct appropriations from the state for capital or operations expenses. Instead, the Ports Authority operates like a private business, and funds its operations and investment efforts through its own revenue stream and ability to issue bonds.

Bill H. Stern - Chairman, Columbia, SC

Willie E. Jeffries - Secretary, Elloree, SC

Michael Sisk - Treasurer, Lexington, SC

Whitemarsh S. Smith, III - Charleston, SC

David J. Posek - Pawleys Island, SC

Pamela P. Lackey - Columbia, SC

Patrick W. McKinney - Charleston, SC

Kurt D. Grindstaff - Hilton Head Island, SC

Richard L. Stanley - Greenville, SC

Christy A. Hall (ex-officio) - SCDOT

Robert M. Hitt III (ex-officio) - SCDOC